As it turns out…

10 11 2008

On Saturday I only pedaled to the Piedra Overlook (which is just past mm11on FS135). I’ve been dying to get to the end but usually get turned around for lack of time and sometimes motivation. I went back up to Beaver Meadows yesterday to see how far the road went but this time I drove…I was within a couple of miles from the gate that marks the end when I stopped at the overlook the previous day. I had almost made it!

From there though, it kept going beyond the gate and on a faint trail that was marked Pine Piedra Trail #524 (East Creek 6miles). I think this is the one that tops out on Slide Mountain and back into the Weminuche Wilderness (which is off limits to bikes). I’m going to go back and check it out, but this time I might have to bring the skis because it snowed about four inches at the house last night, which means that there is probably close to a foot up there. Otherwise, It might be late spring 2009 before I get to it.

Yesterday wasn’t all about trail scouting though. I did hall my little trailer up to Beaver Meadows and cut some awesome Spruce for firewood…It burns way cleaner than the “dirty” Pine from my lot. I ended up with almost a 1/2 cord which will keep my “Baby’s Momma’s Butt” warm this winter. That’s Traci if you couldn’t figure that one out…

Saturday's Tracks

Saturday's Tracks


Actions

Information

3 responses

11 11 2008
El Freako

Looks epic.

13 11 2008
Matt

See…..I’m thinking you bailed too early. You need to figure out the drop toward Vallecito and then we come back from there. And then we do it in reverse and do the Lemon Reservoir-dirty Florida Road-Endlich Mesa to Vallecito and over to your house on this route you are charged with putting together. Now Jeff…THAT is epic!

13 11 2008
Mitch

I have been “eyeballing” that since I’ve moved here…Each time I get a little closer to figuring it out…And I think I found the route to Vallecito from Slide Mountain. Even thought the climb to the top of Bevar Meadows is a grind, I think Slide Mountain (Piedra/Pine Trail) makes it look easy…

Leave a comment